Genesis Future Directors Award 2017 winners to direct two plays at the Young Vic

17 November 2016

The Bear/The Proposal, directed by Lucy J Skilbeck, will run from 15 March – 25 March 2017

Yellowman, directed by Nancy Medina,will run from 22 November- 2 December 2017

Checkhov’s The Bear, is the story of the inconsolable widow Elena who has vowed to spend the rest of her days at home, grieving. Seven months into her mourning, an intrusion from an unknown and headstrong stranger forces her to re-engage with the outside world. In The Proposal, a bachelor asks a neighbour for his daughter’s hand in marriage. It’s a practical move: time is marching on for Lomov, and he believes Natalya is as good a match as he can hope to find. Though her father is delighted, a misunderstanding leads to wild accusations and Lomov’s plan risks being thrown off course. Lucy J Skilbeck, isone of two winners of the Genesis Future Directors Award 2017.

Later in the year, Nancy Medina’s production of Yellowman will take to the same stage. As children Alma and Eugene struck up a friendship, blissfully unaware of their differences. But growing up their developing affection is met with opposition from close quarters, and prejudice and violence complicates their changing relationship. Set in South Carolina in the 1970s, this powerful play reflects on internal racial prejudice and colourism within the black community.

The Genesis Future Directors Award nurtures and develops emerging young directors by providing them with an invaluable opportunity to explore and develop their craft while creating their first fully resourced production at the Young Vic without the scrutiny of the media. Lucy and Nancy became the eigth and ninth recipients of this award this year and will be supported and mentored by the Young Vic including Artistic Director David Lan, Genesis Fellow Gbolahan Obisesan, Lead Producer Daisy Heath and Associate Artistic Director Sue Emmas .

Former recipients of a Genesis Future Directors Award include Ola Ince (2016), Bryony Shanahan (2016), Rikki Henry (2015), Finn Beames (2014), Tinuke Craig (2014), Matthew Xia (2013) and Ben Kidd (2012).

To find out more about the Genesis Foundation’s partnership with the Young Vic, click here.